LWVE Forms Three New Subcommittees

One of the goals of the League of Women Voters Edina is to advocate and participate in local action to eradicate discrimination and systemic racism. To that end, we have formed the following three subcommittees that have a specific focus and will seek to engage our membership and the community. We will be publishing updates to this website as we do our work. Please check back often!

The “LWVE and Racial Justice – Our Past, Our Present, Our Future” subcommittee is studying the history of LWV and race, and assessing current LWVE membership and advocacy. We will share historical information on the LWVE website in brief summaries with references and links for those wishing to learn more. We will share our assessment of current LWVE membership and work with LWVE leaders and members. We will offer a vision of LWVE as an organization with an explicit focus on racial justice, in terms of membership, leadership, partnerships, positions and advocacy.

The “Voting Rights is a Racial Justice Issue” subcommittee is reviewing the intersection between voting rights and racial justice as a national issue and also exploring its implications locally. We will identify key voting rights topics relevant for racial justice including barriers limiting access to voting, as well as examining voting patterns in our community. We plan to share our research on the website, host an event on the topic and work to collaborate with other local organizations highlighting the issue.

Learning and Unlearning: The History of Whiteness and Racism describes the work of the third subcommittee. We are providing ways for interested members of the LWVE and the broader community to learn about Edina’s history with race, racism and white privilege, offering resources to learn about systemic racism and BIPOC (Black-Indigenous-People of Color) experiences within that system, and exploring community partnerships to create city-wide events like book readings and movie nights.

Upcoming Events

Evening Event: Jim Crow of the North

Thursday, January 21 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Twin Cities Public Television original documentary followed by facilitated discussion. Zoom Link will be sent to members prior to event. Due to limited capacity, members and non-members are asked to register by 1/18/21. Please RSVP by email to [email protected] Evening events are free of charge and open to all unless otherwise noted.

Read More